Weekly Feature

2017-05-17 / Local News

Youth Board holds awards dinner

The Town of Tonawanda Youth Board recognized the accomplishments of youth and adults who work with youth from across the Ken-Ton Community at its 40th annual awards dinner on Thursday.

“It was a pleasure to meet and be in the company of such incredible youth and the adults who work with youth in our community,” said Dan Crangle, Town of Tonawanda councilman and chairman of the Youth, Parks and Recreation Committee.

High schools in the community each nominated one student to be recognized as an outstanding youth, including: Alexander Russell, Kenmore East High School; Julia Murphy, Mount St. Mary Academy; Abigail Ochs, Cardinal O’Hara High School; Rylee Watson, Kenmore West High School; Mohamed Amin, Sweet Home High School; Alexandria Rainey, Ken-Ton Career and Technical Center; and Nicholas Manning, St. Joseph’s Collegiate Institute.

Patrick Manning was presented with the Outstanding Youth of the Year Award.

The top five Youth Engaged in Service volunteers were also recognized, collectively earning 478 hours of community service in 2016. These volunteers include Justin Fuzi with 176 hours; Nathaniel Breeze with 85 hours; Katie Horvath with 80 hours; Anna Nesci with 69 hours; and Matthew Sandy with 68.25 hours.

Diana Gruninger, an English and theater teacher at Kenmore West, received the Joseph Allen Jr. Service to Youth Award for going above and beyond what is expected of a teacher, and for spending her personal time mentoring at-risk students, according to a prepared statement.

Gennie Vitko received the Robert Swift Volunteer Service to Youth Award for her volunteer work with the Kenmore East Music Boosters and Edison Elementary Parent Teacher Association.

The Brian Dugan Outstanding Teacher Award was given to Darlene Evans from Kenmore East for her compassion and dedication to her students, both inside and outside the classroom, according to the statement.

Chuck Grunzweig, of John’s

Towing, was recognized with the Community Service Award, for his contributions to the community’s most needy.

Student representatives graduating from the Youth Board this year were also recognized for their service: Nicole Caputi of Cardinal O’Hara and Tyler Kiblin of St. Joe’s.

Return to top