Weekly Feature

2017-12-06 / Front Page

Fire district elections set for Dec. 12


Fire districts in Kenmore and Tonawanda will hold elections for the seat of commissioner in their respective departments on Tuesday, Dec. 12.

Residents can visit their fire district’s polling place to cast their vote. Voters registered with the Erie County Board of Elections on or before Nov. 20 are eligible to vote.

In Brighton Fire District No. 5, Steven P. Dabney is running unopposed for commissioner for his third full five-year term. His first term was for two years to complete a vacated term.

The term commences Jan. 1, 2018, and will end Dec. 31, 2022. Residents can vote between 4 and 9 p.m. at the fire station, 50 Jamaica Road, Station No. 1, Tonawanda.

Kelly Blount is running unopposed for a five-year term, commencing Jan. 1, 2018, and expiring Dec. 31, 2022, in Ellwood Fire District No. 1. Residents can vote between 6 and 9 p.m. at 1000 Englewood Ave., Kenmore.

Also running unopposed is incumbent Robert Lundquist in Kenilworth Fire District No. 2. For Kenilworth, residents can vote between 5 and 9 p.m. at 84 Hawthorne Ave., Tonawanda.

There is a proposition up for a vote for the purchase of a new custom pumper in the Kenilworth district.

In Sheridan Park Fire District No. 4, there are three incumbents running unopposed.

Colleen Chatman is running as district secretary and Paul Palistrant as district treasurer, both for a three-year term. Robert Lutz is running for commissioner, which is a five-year term.

For Sheridan Park, residents can vote between 3 and 8 p.m. at 738 Sheridan Drive, Tonawanda.

Kathy Ryan is the unopposed candidate in River Road Fire District No. 3. Residents can vote between 6 and 9 p.m. at 39 Kaufman Ave., Tonawanda.

The term is for five years, and begins in January. According to the district’s secretary, there is also a write-in available if someone else wishes to run.

Return to top